June 21st, 2017

Burrill announces NDP caucus roles

HALIFAX – Today, NDP Leader Gary Burrill announced the following roles for the newly elected NDP Caucus:

Tammy Martin, MLA for Cape Breton Centre: spokesperson for Health, Labour, Gaelic Affairs, and the Public Services Commission

Susan LeBlanc, MLA for Dartmouth North: Caucus Chair and spokesperson for Communities, Culture and Heritage, the Film and Television Incentive Fund, Transportation and Infrastructure Renewal, and Community Services.

Claudia Chender, MLA for Dartmouth South: Deputy House Leader and spokesperson for Justice, the Human Rights Commission, Business, and Education and Early Childhood Development

Lisa Roberts, MLA for Halifax Needham: Caucus Whip and spokesperson for Immigration, African Nova Scotian Affairs, Acadian Affairs, Communications Nova Scotia, Natural Resources, Fisheries and Aquaculture, and Energy.

Dave Wilson, MLA for Sackville-Cobequid: House Leader and spokesperson for Finance, Seniors, Municipal Affairs, Internal Affairs, Intergovernmental Relations, and Service Nova Scotia.

Lenore Zann, MLA for Truro-Bible Hill-Millbrook-Salmon River: spokesperson for Aboriginal Affairs, the Truth and Reconciliation Commission, Agriculture, Environment, Advanced Education, and Status of Women.

“I am proud to lead a caucus made up of MLAs, most of them women, who are prepared to stand up for the issues that matter to the people of our province,” said Burrill. “Our caucus is ready to continue the work we began in the election to invest in people’s health and opportunities.”